Home / Sports / SPORTS: Modric, Ronaldo & Salah nominated for UEFA Men’s Player of the Year as Messi dropped

SPORTS: Modric, Ronaldo & Salah nominated for UEFA Men’s Player of the Year as Messi dropped

Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah have been nominated for the 2017/18 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award, but Leo Messi was dropped.

The winner will be named – along with the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year and UEFA Champions League positional award winners – during the group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 30 August. The UEFA Europa League Player of the Season will be announced the following day.

The three-man shortlist

Luka Modrić (Real Madrid and Croatia)

A UEFA Champions League winner, a FIFA World Cup runner-up and recipient of the FIFA Golden Ball.

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Juventus and Portugal)

A UEFA Champions League winner for a record fifth time and UEFA Champions League top scorer for the sixth campaign running.

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)

A UEFA Champions League runner-up and a multiple record breaker in his first term at Liverpool.

The rest of the top ten

4 Antoine Griezmann (Atlético & France) – 72 points

5 Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina) – 55 points

6 Kylian Mbappé (Paris & France) – 43 points

7 Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City & Belgium) – 28 points

8 Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid & France) – 23 points

9 Eden Hazard (Chelsea & Belgium) – 15 points

10 Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid & Spain) – 12 points

What is the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award?

The award recognises the best players, irrespective of nationality, playing for a club within the territory of a UEFA member association during the past season. Players are judged on their performances in all competitions – domestic, continental and international.

How were the players shortlisted?

The shortlist of three players was selected by a jury comprising the 80 coaches of the clubs that participated in the group stages of the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League (32) and UEFA Europa League (48), along with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, representing each of UEFA’s member associations.

Jury members chose their top three players, with the first receiving five points, the second three and the third one. Coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team.

The other award shortlists

Goalkeeper of the Season: Alisson Becker, Gianluigi Buffon, Keylor Navas

Defender of the Season: Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Raphaël Varane

Midfielder of the Season: Kevin De Bruyne, Toni Kroos, Luka Modrić

Forward of the Season: Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah

Women’s Player of the Year: Pernille Harder, Ada Hegerberg, Amandine Henry

Europa League Player of the Season: Diego Godín, Antoine Griezmann, Dimitri Payet

About Emeka Okpara

Emeka Okpara is a nigerian born creative film maker and a celebrity blogger with an infectious personality. He founded accrawedeynews.com, an entertainment website and blog that primarily publishes news about Ghanaian celebrities and beyond.

Check Also

Mohammed Salah

Liverpool Mohamed Salah wins BBC African footballer of the year 2018.

Liverpool and Egypt forward Mohamed Salah retains the award he won last season. He becomes …


  1. Pingback: Google

  2. Pingback: распалубка

  3. Pingback: dildo

  4. Pingback: huge dildo for gay